Director: Vincent Phillip Muñoz

Vincent Phillip Muñoz is the Tocqueville Associate Professor of Religion and Public Life in the Department of Political Science and Concurrent Associate Professor of Law at The University of Notre Dame.

Dr. Muñoz writes and teaches across the fields of political philosophy, constitutional studies, and American politics. His recent research has focused on the theme of religious liberty and the American Constitution.



Susan D. Collins

Susan Collins is Associate Professor of Political Science, specializing in Ancient Political Philosophy.

Before joining Notre Dame in fall 2013, Collins was the Ross M. Lence Distinguished Teaching Chair at the University of Houston and founding Director of Phronesis: A Program in Politics and Ethics. Her teaching ranges the history of political thought, with a focus on the Ancient era.



Patrick J. Deneen

Patrick J. Deneen is the David A. Potenziani Memorial Associate Professor of Constitutional Studies.  He holds a B.A. in English literature and a Ph.D. in Political Science from Rutgers University. His research and teaching interests include: Ancient and Modern Political Thought, American Political Thought, American Constitutionalism Literature and Politics, Religion and Politics.



Distinguished Research Professor:  Donald Drakeman

Donald Drakeman has written numerous articles and several books on law, religion, and constitutional interpretation.  His most recent book, Church, State, and Original Intent, was named a CHOICE Outstanding Academic Title (Cambridge University Press, 2010).  His scholarly work has been cited by the Supreme Court of the United States and the Supreme Court of the Philippines.  He has taught courses on constitutional topics at Princeton University and Notre Dame Law School, and he serves as the founding Chairman of the Advisory Council of the James Madison Program in American Ideals and Institutions at Princeton University. 



Paolo Carozza

Paolo Carozza is the director of the Kellogg Institute for International Studies and professor of law and concurrent professor of political science at the University of Notre Dame. With expertise in comparative constitutional law, human rights, law and development, and international law, he focuses his research on Latin America, Western Europe, and international themes more broadly.

His current work revolves around the relationships between law, human rights, and integral human development, in addition to the book project “Constitutional Justice in Italy in Global Context.” Formerly the director of Notre Dame’s Center for Civil and Human Rights, he continues to direct its JSD in International Human Rights Law.



Michael P. Zuckert

Michael Zuckert is the Nancy R. Dreux Professor of Political Science.  He works in the two fields of Political Theory and Constitutional Studies, in both of which he has published extensively.