CCCG to Co-Sponsor Conference for Early Career Women in Political Theory

Author: Center for Citizenship & Constitutional Government

Golden Dome And Basilica Steeple At Sunset

CCCG to Co-Sponsor Conference for Early Career Women in Political Theory

The Center for Citizenship and Constitutional Government will co-sponsor a conference titled “The Future Before Us: Early Career Women in Political Theory and Constitutional Studies” with the University of Wisconsin-Madison’s Center for the Study of Liberal Democracy. The conference will take place in St. Pete Beach, FL on January 12-13, 2023. 

The purpose of this conference is to gather a group of early career women (ABD graduate students, post-docs, and assistant professors) who embody the best of the discipline of political theory and constitutional studies. Conference participants will have the opportunity to network, read each other’s work, and prepare the ground for the future of the discipline. The conference will be co-hosted by CCCG director Philip Muñoz, Richard Avramenko (University of Wisconsin-Madison), and Brianne Wolf (Michigan State University). 

Scholars will be offered the opportunity to present and workshop papers, which will then be gathered for a special issue of the Political Science Reviewer in mid-2023. The topic is open, but it is hoped that scholars will present papers that showcase their particular area of specialization and approach to the discipline.

The CCCG and the Center for the Study of Liberal Democracy (UW-Madison) will provide a $1500 honorarium to cover travel, lodging, and meals in two payments: $750 after the conference at St. Pete Beach, and $750 upon submission of a revised paper to the Political Science Reviewer.

Arlene Saxonhouse (Michigan) will deliver the conference’s keynote address. The following scholars will be present at the conference: Rachel Alexander (University of Virginia), Christina Bambrick (Notre Dame), Kirstin Birkhaug (University of Wisconsin), Danielle Charette (University of Virginia), Gianna Englert (Southern Methodist), Brigid Flaherty (Baylor), Sara Gustafson (Harvard), Ashleen Menchaca-Bagnulo (Texas State), Veronica Roberts Ogle (Assumption College), Abigail Staysa (Notre Dame), Brianne Wolf (Michigan State). 

This conference is designed to occur in tandem with the 2023 Southern Political Science Association Conference at the TradeWinds Island Grand Resort in St. Pete Beach, FL.

More information can be found at the Center for the Study of Liberal Democracy